Participation & GTC

Eligibility

Participation in the competition is open to companies of all sizes from around the world, to design and architectural offices, to communication and PR agencies, to development and engineering offices as well as to consortia comprising of companies and science facilities or academic institutions.

Submissions

The competition is open to product solutions, services or environments containing digital interfaces or electronic functions. Solutions for businesses and end users are equally accepted. Each participant may submit a total of up to six competition entries.

The UX Design Awards competition accepts submissions in the following product areas:

Product Solutions
Launched or market ready products, services, environments

For example: Electronic products, digital applications, apps, software-based solutions, services, physical and virtual spaces containing electronic functions or digital touchpoints. Entries must have either been launched on the market no longer than two calendar years prior to their submission date, or should be planned for a launch within the year of submission.

Concepts
Professional product studies, product/service prototypes, research results

Entries for the „UX Design Award | Concept“ may include for example: Technological product studies, product or service prototypes, pioneering interaction solutions, research projects or solutions not (yet) intended for a market entry. The development process of the entries must have started no longer than two calendar years prior to their submission date. Original entries must be presentable in the awards exhibition where the jury examination will take place.

Application goals characterized by a positive user experience may include for example: Connectivity (creating smart systems, connected things and services), Productivity (adding structure or efficiency to daily activities), Communication (connecting people and communities), Mobility (supporting individual and collective mobility), Improvement (improving daily activities, functions and human abilities), Health (advancing health and wellbeing), Empowerment (enabling participation, inclusion and knowledge sharing), Engagement (activating, raising awareness, capturing attention), Disruption (redefining products or services), Privacy (emphasizing data protection, advancing digital security) or Enjoyment (enhancing emotional comfort, delight or fulfilment).

Submission Procedure

Submissions are registered via a password protected online form. The following data is requested: Contact information of the submitting entity, product description, product images, product film (optional), a description of the submission’s UX qualities und the implemented user research.

Competition Process

Among all valid submissions, the awards Jury nominates a limited amount of competition entries. The Participant may decline the nomination within 7 working days from the notification. Nominated product solutions and concepts must be delivered as fully functional original products for adjudication, taking place in the award exhibition before the IFA opening.

Exclusions

Product solutions and concepts that have been distinguished in an earlier UX Design Award edition are excluded from participation, unless they have undergone considerable changes in function or design in the meantime. If this is the case, the submitting entity must provide information and proof thereof with the application. Excluded from participation are: One-off and craft products, purely academic or student projects as well as solutions devoid of digital or electronic functions.

GTC

Participation in the UX Design Awards requires consent to the General Terms and Conditions which can be viewed here: Download the 2017 GTCs.

Teilnahme und AGB

Teilnahmeberechtigte

Zur Teilnahme am Wettbewerb um die UX Design Awards sind Hersteller, Designstudios, Agenturen und Entwicklungsbüros weltweit eingeladen, darüber hinaus wirtschaftsnahe Konsortien und Kooperationsnetzwerke aus Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen oder Hochschulen.

Einreichungen

Zum Wettbewerb können Produktlösungen, Services oder Environments eingereicht werden, die digitale Funktionen oder elektronische Nutzungselemente enthalten. Zugelassen sind Lösungen für Endnutzer und Unternehmen für alle Nutzungssituationen und Branchen. Je Teilnehmer können insgesamt bis zu sechs Einreichungen angemeldet werden.

Der UX Design Awards Wettbewerb ist offen für Einreichungen in folgenden Produktbereichen:

Produktlösungen
Marktreife oder bereits auf dem Markt befindliche Produkte, Services, Environments

Zum Beispiel: Elektronische Produkte, digitale Anwendungen, Apps, software-basierte Lösungen, Services, physische und virtuelle Räume mit elektronischen Funktionselementen oder digitalen Touchpoints. Die Markteinführung darf nicht länger als zwei Kalenderjahre zurückliegen, beziehungsweise soll im laufenden Wettbewerbsjahr vorgesehen sein.

Konzepte
Professionelle Produktstudien, Produkt-/Service-Prototypen, Forschungsprojekte

Für den „UX Design Award | Concept“ können zum Beispiel eingereicht werden: Technologiebasierte Produktstudien, Produkt- und Service-Prototypen, zukunftsweisende Interaktionslösungen, Forschungsprojekte oder Lösungen, die (noch) nicht für eine breite Markteinführung gedacht sind. Der Beginn des Entwicklungsprozesses der Einreichung darf nicht länger als zwei Kalenderjahre zurückliegen. Die Einreichungen müssen durch die Jury bewertbar sein und in der Award Ausstellung präsentiert werden können.

Zu den Anwendungszielen, die sich durch eine positive User Experience auszeichnen, können zum Beispiel zählen: Connectivity (Produkte, Systeme und Services intelligent verknüpfen), Productivity (Produktivität und Effektivität steigern), Communication (Verbindungen ermöglichen und Kommunikation verbessern), Mobility (Individuelle und kollektive Mobilität unterstützen), Improvement (Tägliche Aktivitäten, Funktionen und Fähigkeiten verbessern), Health (Gesundheit und Wohlergehen stärken), Empowerment (Partizipation und Inklusion ermöglichen, Wissen teilen), Engagement (Nutzer anregen, sensibilisieren und binden), Disruption (Services und Produkte neu definieren), Privacy (Privatsphäre respektieren und Datensicherheit erhöhen) oder Enjoyment (Freude, Selbstverwirklichung, emotionale Geborgenheit stärken).

Einreichungsprozedere

Die Einreichung erfolgt über ein passwortgeschütztes Online-Anmeldeformular. Folgende Informationen werden benötigt: Angaben zum Einreicher, Produktbeschreibung, Produktbilder, Produktfilm (fakultativ), Angaben zu UX-Qualitäten der Einreichung sowie zur durchgeführten Nutzerforschung.

Wettbewerbsablauf

Unter allen gültigen Einreichungen nominiert die Jury eine begrenzte Anzahl von Produktlösungen und Konzepten für den Wettbewerb. Die Nominierung kann innerhalb von 7 Werktagen abgelehnt werden. Nominierte Einreichungen müssen als voll funktionsfähige Originalprodukte für die Award-Ausstellung auf der IFA zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Die Jurierung erfolgt anhand der ausgestellten Einreichungen vor Eröffnung der Messe.

Ausschlüsse

Von der Teilnahme ausgeschlossen sind Produktlösungen und Konzepte, die bereits in früheren Editionen des Wettbewerbs ausgezeichnet wurden, sofern sie zwischen­zeitlich nicht wesentliche Änderungen in ihrer Funktion bzw. Gestaltung erfahren haben. Ist dies der Fall, so muss der Einsender in seiner Produktbeschreibung gesondert auf diesen Umstand hinweisen und diesen belegen.

Handwerkliche Unikate, studentische Arbeiten, ausschließlich akademische Projekte sowie Lösungen ohne digitaler bzw. elektronischer Funktionen sind von der Teilnahme ausgeschlossen.

AGB

Die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb setzt die Zustimmung zu den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen voraus: Download der AGB für 2017.